Home

Welcome to the CAFC website

The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre (CAFC) is the central agency in Canada that collects information and criminal intelligence on such matters as mass marketing fraud (e.g., telemarketing), advance fee fraud (e.g., West African letters), Internet fraud and identification theft complaints.

CAFC logo

Wire transfers

If you believe you were a victim of fraud and you made a wire transfer through Western Union between January 1, 2004 and January 19, 2017 you may be eligible to recovery some of your money. Find out how at the Western Union Remission website.

Recent fraudulent activities

Door-to-door scams

Door-to-door salespeople can use high pressure tactics and can be aggressive in nature.

Selling goods online

Consumers who sell merchandise online are susceptible to victimization which can lead to loss of merchandise, funds or both.

Identity theft vs identity fraud

What are the differences between identity theft and identity fraud? What steps can you take to protect yourself?

Scams targeting businesses

No matter the size of your business, it is important that all levels of staff be aware of these prevalent scams.

Are you a victim?

The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre estimates that less than 5% of mass marketing fraud is ever reported. Follow these steps if you have been defrauded.

How do I report spam?

The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre advises consumers not to open unsolicited emails or when the sender is unknown. Spam and related violations (for example: phishing, malware, deceptive marketing, etc.) can be reported to the enforcement agencies (the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission, the Competition Bureau, the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada) through the Spam Reporting Centre.

Date modified:

Accueil

Bienvenue au site du CAFC

Le Centre antifraude du Canada (CAFC) est l'organisme central du Canada chargé de recueillir l'information et les renseignements criminels sur les plaintes d'origine Canadiennes en matière de fraude, de marketing en masse (p. ex., télémarketing), de lettres frauduleuses (p. ex., Afrique de l'ouest), de fraude par internet et de fraude en matière de vol d'identité.

CAFC logo

Virements télégraphiques

Si vous avez fait un virement télégraphique par l’entremise de Western Union entre le 1er janvier 2004 et le 19 janvier 2017 et croyez avoir été victime de fraude, vous pourriez avoir droit à un remboursement. Découvrez comment au site de Western Union Remission (en anglais seulement).

Activités frauduleuses récentes

Vol d'identité par opposition à fraude à l'identité

Quelles sont les différences entre le vol d'identité et la fraude à l'identité? Quelles mesures pouvez-vous prendre pour vous protéger?

Fraudes ciblant les entreprises

Peu importe la taille de l'entreprise, il est important que les employés de tous les échelons prennent connaissance des fraudes courantes ci-dessous.

Fraudes ciblant les contribuables

Des fraudes continuent de cibler les contribuables canadiens tous les jours.

Offres de vacances frauduleuses

Les escroqueries liées aux voyages ciblent les consommateurs et les entreprises de l'industrie.

Victime d'une fraude?

Prenez les mesures suivantes si vous avez été escroqué.

Comment signalez le spam?

Le CAFC conseille aux consommateurs de ne pas ouvrir les courriels non sollicités ou dont l'expéditeur est inconnu. Les pourriels et infractions connexes (par exemple: l'hameçonnage, les logiciels malveillants, les pratiques commerciales trompeuses, etc.) peuvent être signalés aux organismes responsables de l'application de la loi (le Bureau de la concurrence, le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada, le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes) par l'entremise du Centre de notification des pourriels.

Date de modification :